Day 1 of 2 days with my py-kids

Day started with first intro by Chandrashekar. He had created the correct slides, and gave a perfect 101. It was sad that guys and gals where not even ready for that. FSMK, GLUG and all FOSS orbs out here has to do a serious work on this.they need to know what open source and how cool is it.
 
First lab session, and I was assigned in Lab D. So sleepy and inactive guys and gals to deal with.
 
     But, I’m happy the Gender ratio was equal and better on the girls side. This is something the Open Source community has yet to improve on. I was trying to follow the questions Chandru had set already. And I couldn’t feel that the kids where gaining anything, because the time frame we allotted them was not enough for them to catch up.
 
After asking questions and getting all eyes staring at me, i started saying, guys, responses please. That is what would take you into height you have to fly. Respond when you know something. Respond, and say, when you , don’t know something. Which essentially means, respond, no matter what.
 
After lunch second session by Chandru was on read and write – Files  and Classes. And there where four questions for the kids to work on. And right after his talk when people was still not responding, I thought it is time for me to step in and give them a talk about how they should see themselves if they have to rock in this industry.
 
It was time for me to be in action – My Lightning talk
 
I was not so happy with the 0 response principle these kids carried. I wanted them to wake up and stand for themselves. Forget about the company taking you in and training you and feeding you. I wanted them to understand the need of working for themselves.
After giving a quick talk to the all four teams it was time to be back back at the Lab session.
This time I did not start with the coding part. Instead I gave a 10 mins talk, a motivational talk. On how the job would be. How hard it would be to survive. How you should struggle. And more importantly how to get into the best companies out there, rather that waiting for MNC’s to come and pick them in, and put them into the companies choice of technology – which mostly would be the legendary manual testing.
 
I tried to achieve the ‘open source and how cool is it’ part here. Hopefully some must have grabbed something, if not all things, and they never had any hands on experience with this. Or may be was not aware that such a cool community exists.
 
I was under a tight schedule under my work, and when I accepted this offer to take session. All I wanted was to deliver some value to the community I belong to. The community which pitched me into a wonderful job. And is still caring for me by making me enthusiastic with its own mind blowing developments.
I told them, all I wanted to take away from here. All I can take away from here is just, satisfaction. Satisfaction, of teaching some students how to set their career in a beautiful and promising track.
 
Well  that went well, and I got really got responses from kids – that was unexpected.
It was time to start the lab, and I had a plan this time in my mind. I did not want to traverse the questions which they where asked to solve. Instead, I wanted them to understand the concepts. I collected the the 4 questions together and made it into a single question and started working.
 
The first two questions was file read and file write. The third was Class  and the forth was Dictionary.
I planned it like, create a Dict. That was done, and people pretty well started understanding how to set the key value pair and how to add/append data into it. Then it was creating a class to hold those data. Made them pass those data into the class and make an object of it. For this second short 1 hour session which also included a motivational talk, this was enough.
Had been asking them if they understand or not. If they do not answer when I ask ‘did everyone understand ?’ then the question gets changed ‘ who all did not understand  ? ‘
including both sessions, after 2.5 hours of effort, people starred responding well. At least they daed to say, they did not understand some concepts, which was valid. Coz, I even had to face somebody who did not understand and array and relations ship between index and value in it. Which is totally fine. After all, I’m there to explain ( though supposed to be explaining PY that data structure concepts).
I gathered all around my laptop and showed then step by step. Asked them questions. And stressed until they decided to give answer.So here is the thing, If they don’t know answer, they don’t talk. They don’t even give a try, or a guess at least. All I would have asked would be a yes or no question, and a guess is pretty easy there. But I was patient enough to wait until till decided to give me the answer. though it was wrong, I don’t care. I know they are fresh heads and they are not expected to be correct all the time. But for me they are future engineers under constructions, and have passed 3 years under the build process called Engg. classes. I expect them to be responsive, and alive.
BUt towards the end, either they developed a confidence within them, or developed a trust in me, that, they started to respond pretty well. They started participating. And when there is a two way participation happening there is nothing better a session would need of being effective.
 
I’m hoping I did justice to them on Day 1.
 
Well it was time for some evening masthy (fun) and we will a cool college guy went for a movie, prisoners. And luckily that was a fantastic movie. We had a wonderful time. And best part was, we never felt we just met each other last night. All were as if we were friends from the college, and rather, we were from college! It was a very pleasant and for some reason nostalgic night.

 Day 2 overwhelming…is coming…here

One thought on “Day 1 of 2 days with my py-kids

Leave a Reply

